Blizzard announces the Initial Seven Teams for the Overwatch League

Blizzard finally broke their silence on the Overwatch League! Nate Nanzer, the commissioner for the Overwatch League, has just announced the first seven teams that have bought in on the said league. Watch the official announcement below:

The new team owners include:

Robert Kraft, Chairman and CEO of the Kraft Group and the New England Patriots (Boston)

Jeff Wilpon, Co-Founder and Partner of Sterling.VC and COO of the New York Mets (New York)

Noah Whinston, CEO of Immortals (Los Angeles)

Ben Spoont, CEO and Co-Founder of Misfits Gaming (Miami-Orlando)

Andy Miller, Chairman and Founder of NRG Esports (San Francisco)

NetEase (Shanghai)

Kevin Chou, Co-founder of Kabam (Seoul)

For those unfamiliar with the upcoming Overwatch League, it will be the first major global professional esports league with city-based teams; unlike the usual organization-based teams in other Esports such as League of Legends or Dota 2.

With the Overwatch League’s city-based teams, Blizzard is looking to emulate traditional sports with home and away games. Though for the first season, all regular-season matches will be played at an Esports arena in Los Angeles while teams ready their venues for future seasons. Overwatch League matches will be played every Thursday, Friday and Saturday.

This announcement can be seen as good news, seeing as there are rumors that the Overwatch League buy-in fee costs a whopping $20 million USD. There’s also the fact that teams will receive an equal share of all league-wide net revenues, as well as keep all local revenues generated through their home territory and venue up to a set amount each year. This might entice more people/organizations to join the league.

While the first seven teams were announced, there is still no information as to when the Overwatch League will start.

For more information on the announcement, visit Blizzard’s official page here.