Loading, Please Wait
Fnatic, TNC Predator, and Team Adroit book their tickets to MDL Chengdu Major
Posted by Ram Ronquillo on October 09, 2019

After three days of action in the Southeast Asian Regional qualifiers for the MDL Chengdu Major, Fnatic, TNC Predator, and Team Adroit have earned their spots in the aftermath of the tournament.

A total of ten teams competed in the Qualifiers, eight of which were directly invited while the remaining two earned their spots through an Open Qualifier. Some of the teams included Fnatic, Boom Esports (formerly known as Boom ID), Geek Fam, Team Adroit, and Cignal Ultra. The latter two teams played through the Open Qualifiers.

The ten teams were drawn into two groups of five. They played in a single round robin best-of-two format with the top two teams per group went to the Playoffs while the third team of the groups advanced to the Dota Summit 11 SEA Qualifier. The fourth team per group competed against each other to decide who continued to the Dota Summit 11 SEA Qualifier.

Group A had Fnatic, Team Adroit, Team Jinesbrus, Boom Esports, and SG Dragons. While TNC Predator, Cignal Ultra, Geek Fam, Reality Rift, and Alpha x Hashtag were in Group B.

Both groups had the top dogs Fnatic and TNC Predator, both of whom ended with three wins and a draw. Team Adroit claimed the second spot with three wins and a loss to Fnatic. Cignal Ultra barely claimed second spot with one loss and three draws.

In the playoffs, unsurprisingly, Fnatic and TNC Predator had the upper hand against Cignal Ultra and Team Adroit, respectively. Although, Team Adroit did force a third game against the revamped TNC Predator.

Cignal Ultra and Team Adroit faced off for the third and final spot and Adroit continued to show their controlled aggression. They earned the spot at MDL Chengdu Major after sweeping Cignal Ultra.

MDL Chengdu Major is the first Major championship event in the 2019-2020 Dota Pro Circuit. The event has a total prize pool of USD 980,000 at stake along with a total 15,000 DPC points. USD 300,000 and 4850 DPC points will go to the champion at the Major.

Other Articles