Kiev Major: Tournament Preview, Schedule, Format

The Kiev Major will start in just a few days, and all the teams are locked in, the prize pool has been announced, the talent pool, as well as the format. Group Stage will be conducted on April 24 and 25, while the Main Event will be conducted 27-30 at the National Palace of Arts in Kiev, Ukraine. Here are the participating teams for the tournament.


Team Random (formerly Wings Gaming)

Chu “shadow” Zeyu
Zhou “bLink” Yang
Zhang “Faith_bian” Ruida
Zhang “y`” Yiping
Lee “iceice” Peng


Johan “N0tail” Sundstein
Anathan “ana” Pham
Gustav “s4” Magnusson
Jesse “JerAx” Vainikka
Tal “Fly” Aizik

Mousesports (formerly Ad Finem)

Omar “Madara” Dabasas
Dimitris “ThuG” Plivouris
Xaris “SkyLark” Zafirou
Verros “Maybe Next Time” Apostolos
Giorgos “SsaSpartan” Giannakopoulos

Team Liquid

Lasse “MATUMBAMAN” Urpalainen
Amer “Miracle-“ Al-Barkawi
Ivan “MinD_ContRoL” Borislavov
Maroun “GH” Merhej
Kuro “KuroKy” Salehi Takhasomi

Evil Geniuses

Artour “Arteezy” Babaev
Syed Sumail “SumaiL” Hassan
Saahil UNiVeRsE Arora
Ludwig “zai” Wahlberg
Andreas Franck “Cr1t” Nielsen

Thunderbirds (formerly Digital Chaos)
Related News: Digital Chaos release TI6 roster; then acquires Team Onyx members

Roman “Resolu1tion” Fominok
Aliwi “w33” Omar
David “MoonMeander” Tan
Rasmus “MiSeRy” Filipsen
Martin “Saksa” Sazdov


Xu “uuu9” Han
Song “Sccc” Chun
Damien “kpii” Chok
Hu “kaka” Liangzhi
Zeng “Faith” Hongda

Vici Gaming. J (VG.J)

Sun “Agressif” Zheng
Liu “Freeze” Chang
Bai “rOtk” Fan
Xu “fy” Linsen
Lu “Fenrir” Chao

READ: Valve releases Kiev Major Direct Invites; Wings, OG, 6 more make it to the list



Dominik “Black^” Reitmeier
Anucha “Jabz” Jirawong
Daryl “iceiceice” Koh
Toh “Xy-“ Wai Hong
Wong “NutZ” Jeng Yih

READ:  Kiev Major SEA Qualifier: Faceless qualify for the Spring Major

TNC Pro Team

Marc Polo “Raven” Luis  Fausto
Carlo “Kuku” Palad
Samson Solomon “Sam_H” Enojosa Hidalgo
Timothy “Tims” Randrup
Ryo “ryOyr” Hasegawa

READ:  Kiev Major SEA Qualifier: TNC edge Mineski to qualify for Spring Major


Invictus Gaming Vitality

Zhang “Paparazi灬” Chengjun
Xu “Sakata” Zichen
Yang “InJuly” Xiaodon
Su “super” Peng
Gao “Dogf1ghts” Tianpeng

READ: Kiev Major CN Qualifier: iG.Vitality defeat main squad iG for Spring Major slot

Invictus Gaming

Xu “BurNIng” Zhilei
Ou “Op” Peng
Lin “Xxs” Jing
Ye “BoBoKa” Zhibiao
Fu “Q” Bin

READ: Kiev Major CN Qualifier: Invictus Gaming join iG.V on the road to Kiev


Team Secret

Pyo “MP” No-a
Zheng “MidOne” Yeik Nai
Maurice “KheZu” Gutmann
Clement “Puppey” Ivanov
Johan “pieliedie” Åström



Roman “RAMZES666” Kushnarev
Vladimir “No[o]ne” Minenko
Pavel “9pasha” Khvastunov
Ilya “Lil” Ilyuk
Alexei “Solo” Berezin


Digital Chaos (formerly Team Onyx)
Related News: Digital Chaos release TI6 roster; then acquires Team Onyx members

Mason “mason” Venne
Abed Azel “Abed” Yusop
Kanishka ‘Sam’ “BuLba” Sosale
Kim “DuBu” Doo-young
Jimmy “DeMoN” Ho

READ: Kiev Major NA Qualifier: Team Onyx upsets NP and coL to qualify for the Kiev Major


SG E-sports

William “hFn” Medeiros
Adriano “4dr” Machado
Otávio “Tavo” Gabriel
Danylo “KINGRD” Nascimento
Emilano “c4t” Ito

READ: Kiev Major SA Qualifier: SG e-sports qualify for Kiev, first Brazilian team to attend a Valve Major

There’s going to be a new addition to the tournament, as this will be the first time that a Valve-sponsored Major will wall under its own modified Swiss group stage. Generally, teams will face each other only once, and they can only face the team that has the same series win-loss record as they have. Meanwhile, the Main Event will still be Single Elimination.

There are sample scenarios that can be found through

The hosts, as well as the talents were also announced through Valve source Wykrhm Reddy’s twitter account.

Lastly, the prize pool distribution was also announced.