Loading, Please Wait
Article | Tech
LoL Worlds 2018: Here Are the Sixteen Teams in the Main Event
Posted by Martin Patino on October 09, 2018

The Play-In Stage of the 2018 League of Legends World Championship concluded last weekend. The four teams that advanced from the stage round out the roster of 16 teams that will be competing in the tournament’s Main Event. The four teams that advanced from the Play-In Stage include Europe’s G2 Esports, LMS’s G-Rex, Edward Gaming from China, and Cloud 9 from North America.

The sixteen teams that will compete at the LoL Worlds 2018 Main Event will have to get through the Group Stage, which runs from October 10 to 17, 2018, to determine the eight final teams for the Bracket/Knockout Stage. The sixteen teams will be divided into four groups and will battle it out following a double round robin, best-of-one format. Here are all the sixteen teams participating in the Group Stage, and their respective groupings:

Group A

Flash Wolves

Afreeca Freecs

Phong Vũ Buffalo

G2 Esports

Group B

Royal Never Give Up


Team Vitality

Cloud 9

Group C

KT Rolster

MAD Team

Team Liquid

EDward Gaming

Group D


100 Thieves

Invictus Gaming


The top two teams from each group after all the Group Stage matches have concluded will advance to the Bracket/Knockout Stage of the tournament, which will start on October 20, 2018. This year’s world championship will feature a growing prize pool which starts at $2.25 Million and will increase as more Championship Kha’Zix skins & Championship ward skins are sold. Specifically, 12.5% of the sales will be added to the prize pool. Additionally, another 12.5% of the sales will be shared between all the teams participating at the event.

Other Articles