Loading, Please Wait
New Armor, Artifacts, And Other Features Found In Destiny 2: Shadowkeep
Posted by Ram Ronquillo on October 04, 2019

The seventh major expansion of Destiny 2 – Shadowkeep has just arrived! It not only is the fourth major expansion in the game, but also the first expansion released by Bungie after it parted ways with Activision.

The expansion brings players back to the moon. While it shares some areas that it did with the original Destiny, this time around, there are twice as many locations to go to. Eris Morn also returns and awakened a slumbering ancient evil in the moon – the Nightmares.

The PvP-centric Crucible will also get three new maps in Shadowkeep: Widow’s Court, Twilight Gap, and Fragment. However, four Crucible maps will also be removed: Dead Cliffs, Legion’s Gulch, Retribution, and Solitude.

Along with the story, the expansion brings quite a few changes along with it in gameplay and mechanics. It may not be as big as Forsaken, but there’s still quite a few to change things up for everyone.


Armor mods and more information

Photo: Bungie Youtube

First is a revamp to the armor system. The new armor system – named Armor 2.0, uses an Energy system. While it allows for a more diverse mod experience, the Energy system works as cap to how many mods a player can equip.

Mods come in two types, general and elemental. With the latter requiring it to match the Energy type – Arc, Void, or Solar.

In addition, Shadowkeep brings back the Strength, Discipline, and Intellect stats from the original Destiny along with three other stats.


Armor cosmetics

Photo: Bungie

While this is also related to armor, we decided to separate it because come on, cosmetics is just a separate feature altogether.

Shadowkeep also introduces armor customization. Yes, you read that right; it brings customization to the armors that you equip with Legendary Ornaments that can be applied to any piece of legendary armor and swapped on the fly.



With armor out of the way, we now go to the biggest gameplay addition, Finishers. These can be used to execute low health monsters and go through some amazing animation to get the final blow.

Each finisher is unique to a class. The Warlock blasts arcane energy to get the killing blow while the Hunter uses knives, to name a few.

Finishers, like armor, can be customized with Finisher mods which can be equipped for effects like self-healing or spawn ammo for your fireteam but these mods will use Super energy.


Seasonal Artifacts

Photo: eurogamer.net

A returning feature from Destiny are the Artifacts. These add even more customization and even more power to the builds of players.

These Artifacts will be seasonal though. Throughout the season, the Artifact will also yield seasonal mods that can be used for armor modification. However, at the end of each season, players lose these mods and Artifacts.

The Artifact system allows players to go beyond the Shadowkeep power level cap of 960. For min-maxers and players who love to experiment on builds, this is a welcome addition.


Battle Pass

Photo: eurogamer.net

While season-based content isn’t new for Destiny 2, what’s new is the Battle Pass with 100 tiers of rewards. Taking inspiration from other shooters like Fortnite, it has a variety of challenges for both the free and premium battle pass holders.

Playing and doing the variety of challenges grants players levels which in turn unlock the various rewards from practical to cosmetic.

This coupled with the Artifact allows Bungie to play around with meta and different things while still not totally breaking the game.


Other Articles