PGL Bucharest Major Preview

Eighteen teams head to Bucharest for the fourth Major of the 2017-2018 Dota Pro Circuit (DPC), fighting for a chance at the USD 1,000,000 prize pool and 1500 DPC points.

ESL Katowice might have shaken the DPC Leaderboard two weeks ago — Fnatic almost toppled Evil Geniuses and Mineski by making their way to a Major top 4, Vici Gaming used to be tied with Mineski but now sits comfortably at DPC Top 4, while Virtus.Pro successfully overtook Team Secret in the Top 1 spot.  With back-to-back Valve Majors happening, this DPC race might be shaken once again, however. Most especially because of the fact that 14 out of the 18 teams participating at the Bucharest Major already have DPC points, and that there’s a fresh 7.10 Patch Update.

The Bucharest Major will run from Mar 4 to Mar 11. This includes a different Group Stage format as compared to other Majors: much like the Kiev Major format a year ago, the 16 teams will be placed in a single group to play the Swiss-system format. In this group stage, all matches will be played in a BO1, and all opposing teams will have the same Win/Loss record. Therefore, teams who won the first round will be facing each other in the second round, while teams who lost the first round will be facing each other in the second round. This will go on for five rounds, for example, 0-2 teams will face 0-2 teams and 2-1 teams will face 2-1 teams.

Only the top 8 teams from the Group Stage will advance to the playoffs. At this stage, they will be seeded accordingly into a single-elimination bracket where all matches are played in a BO3, excluding the BO5 Grand Finals.

Here are the teams competing:


Team Liquid 
(Directly Invited)

Lasse Aukusti “MATUMBAMAN” Urpalainen
Amer “Miracle-“ Al-Barqawi
Ivan Borislavov “MinD_ContRoL” Ivanov
Maroun “GH” Merhej
Kuro “KuroKy” Salehi Takhasomi

(Directly Invited)

Xu “Moogy” Han
Song “Sccc” Chun
Damien “kpii” Chok
Hu “Kaka” Liangzhi
Zeng “Faith” Hongda

Evil Geniuses
(Directly Invited)

Artour “Arteezy” Babaev
Syed Sumail “SumaiL” Hassan
Saahil ” UNiVeRsE Arora
Andreas Franck “Cr1t” Nielsen
Clinton “Fear” Loomis

Natus Vincere
(Directly Invited)

Vladislav “Crystallize” Krystanek
Danil “Dendi” Ishutin
Victor “GeneRaL” Nigrini
Ilya “Lil” Ilyuk
Nikola “LeBronDota” Popović

(Directly Invited)

Kam “Moon” Boon Seng
Chai “Mushi” Yee Fung
Daryl Koh “iceiceice” Pei Xiang
Anucha “Jabz” Jirawong
Michael “ninjaboogie” Ross Jr.

Vici Gaming
(Directly Invited)

Zhang “Paparazi灬” Chengjun
Zeng “Ori” Jiaoyang
Ren “eLeVeN” Yangwei
Zhang “LaNm” Zhicheng
Lu “Fenrir” Chao

LGD.Forever Young
(Directly Invited)

Du “Monet” Peng
Xie “Super” Junhao
Khoo “Ohaiyo” Chong Xin
Yao “Yao” Zhengzheng
Tue “ah fu” Soon Chuan

(Directly Invited)

Roman “RAMZES666” Kushnarev
Vladimir “No[o]ne” Minenko
Pavel “9pasha” Khvastunov
Vladimir “RodjER” Nikogosyan
Alexei “Solo” Berezin

Team Secret
(Directly Invited)

Marcus “Ace” Hoelgaard
Yeik “MidOne” Nai Zheng
Adrian “Fata” Trinks
Yazied “YapzOr” Jaradat
Clement “Puppey” Ivanov

(Europe Qualifier)

Johan “N0tail” Sundstein
Roman “Resolut1on” Fominok
Gustav “s4” Magnusson
Jesse “JerAx” Vainikka
Tal “Fly” Aizik

Vega Squadron
(CIS Qualifier)

Ilya “ALOHADANCE” Korobkin
Sergey Alexandrovich “G” Bragin
Vasily “AfterLife” Shishkin
Bakyt “Zayac” Emilzhanov
Semion “CemaTheSlayer” Krivulya

(China Qualifier)

Liu “Sylar” Jiajun
Liu “Kamma” Chang
Zhou “Yang” Haiyang
Pan “Fade” Yi
Leong “ddc” Fat-meng

(SEA Qualifier)

Marc Polo Luis “Raven” Fausto
Armel Paul “Armel” Tabios
Samson Solomon “Sam_H” Hidalgo
Timothy John “Tims” Randrup
Carlo “Kuku” Palad

OpTic Gaming
(North America Qualifier)

Per Anders Olsson “Pajkatt” Lille
Quinn “CC&C” Callahan
Ludwig “zai” Wåhlberg
Neta “33” Shapira
Peter “ppd” Dager
paiN Gaming
(South America Qualifier)

William “hFn” Medeiros
Aliwi “w33” Omar
Otávio “Tavo” Gabriel
Danylo “Kingrd” Nascimento
Heitor “Duster” Pereira

Follow this writer through @caisamyvez and Wolf Casts.

Latest Articles