Loading, Please Wait
Article | Gaming | Geek Culture | Tech
The Nationals Inaugural Season Officially Launched
Posted by Martin Patino on March 12, 2019

The inaugural season of The Nationals, the Philippines’ first franchise-based esports league, has been officially launched and will begin on March 24, 2019.

The league will feature three esports titles – Dota 2 on PC, Mobile Legends: Bang Bang on mobile, and Tekken 7 on PS4 – with two conferences each, totalling to six conferences throughout the year.

Six teams have confirmed their participation in the league including Bren Epro, Cignal Ultra, PLDT-Smart Omega, and Suha-XCTN Punishers. While sixth confirmed team from STI College has confirmed their participation in the league, they’ve yet to announce their rosters for the three featured esports titles.

Each of the league’s conferences will feature a double round-robin group stage and a single-elimination playoffs. The winners and top placers of each conference will advance to the league’s grand finals later this year.

The Nationals Commissioner Ren Vitug said in a press statement:

“I have witnessed many athletes gleaming with skill and potential drop out of the scene because the infrastructure was not there to support them. There are so many external factors that prevent them from being the best that they can be. A lot of people think that being an esports athlete is easy, but players train as long and as hard as athletes would in traditional sports. It is highly competitive, and the dynamics are usually very unstable and ever-changing.”

The Nationals is scheduled to officially commence on March 24, 2019, with the start of the the league’s first Dota 2 conference. The start dates of the other titles’ respective conferences will be announced at a later time.

Other Articles